Seventh Street
A Piano For Your Thoughts
Desert Wanderings
6
0:00
-3:08

Desert Wanderings

To face anything, as long as you're with me.
6

The picture for this month’s song perfectly sums up what I wanted to convey; walking hand in hand with the one you love, prepared to go anywhere.

Even if it’s a desert that’s void of any life.


The Lyrics

There’s a street called evergreen

I have no clue where it leads

But I’ll go if you wanna come with me

And it’s not often that I let my guard down

But you broke down all of my walls

With your strong, bare hands

And you showed me a life

Better than mine

Woah, lie down next to me

Woah, pioneer with me

Find me in my desert wanderings

I never thanked you for riding out to meet me

When I was sad, and lonely, and needed company

You can always come with me

And it’s not often that I let my guard down

But you broke down all of my walls

With your strong, bare hands

And you showed me a life

Better than mine

Woah, lie down next to me

Woah, pioneer with me

Find me in my desert wanderings

Lie down next to me

Pioneer with me

In my, in my, in my desert wanderings.

Share

I like to think that this couple doesn’t know where they’re going, but they’re going somewhere, and that is what makes it worth it.


Desert Wanderings

The “desert wanderings” could be anything; maybe the man is going through a hard time, maybe the woman is after a dream she wants to chase to the ends of the Earth. Whatever it is, there is an unknown, and the journey can be bland, often treacherous. But the man is getting through his hard times with the woman he loves, and the woman is pioneering to her dream with the man she loves by her side.


Echos

At the very end of the song, I sing two “Woah”s. I added harmony and an effect to make it sound a bit like echos. Wherever the couple is going, there is a canyon along the way, and I imagine them yelling into the air to hear their voices come back. A reassurance of some sort.

I just thought it was a fun effect to add as well:)


So however you interpret this song, I hope it is a reassurance. I hope it makes you smile.


To hear more original songs like this one, consider supporting my work through a free or paid subscription.

Discussion about this podcast

Seventh Street
A Piano For Your Thoughts
An original song, accompanied by a few reflections.
Listen on
Substack App
Spotify
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Madeline Tyler