Seventh Street
A Piano For Your Thoughts
Love Letters
5
0:00
-4:09

Love Letters

A Valentine's week special
5

If you’ve listened to this song before reading, you’ll know that it’s a bit different than other ones I’ve posted.

“Love Letters” was created entirely from sample tracks on the software I record on, called Garageband. The only piano part is during the bridge, when I made up a random pattern of notes and switched the sound.

After the music was created and moved around a bit, I listened to it and created the words to go along with it. So unlike my other songs, the poem was not written before the music.

It was incredibly fun making this song through new methods, but it reminded me just how much I love simple, acoustic songs.


“Love Letters” is about heartbreak, but it isn’t supposed to be sad. In my mind, a young girl - maybe a middle schooler - thought she was in love with a boy in her class. They “dated” for a couple weeks, maybe and month, and then he broke her heart over a text with poor grammar.

Well, she took it hard. And this is what she would write to him on Valentine’s day in the form of a love letter; it would be messy, and there might be teardrop marks on the pages.

But good news, she’s most likely more obsessed with the idea of love and heartbreak than actually being heartbroken. She’ll get over it, and the boy will keep breaking girls’ hearts.

I hope you enjoy this (not) sad love letter.


If you know someone who’s secretly heartbroken because of no valentine this week, send a letter their way;)

Share

Discussion about this podcast

Seventh Street
A Piano For Your Thoughts
An original song, accompanied by a few reflections.
Listen on
Substack App
Spotify
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Madeline Tyler