Seventh Street
A Piano For Your Thoughts
Mediterranean Babe
7
0:00
-3:41

Mediterranean Babe

In honor of time well spent.
7

This month’s song has no piano, just ukulele. The ukulele was the first instrument that I learned how to play, and I don’t play it often or create songs with it because of the specific, beachy feel to the strumming, and most of my songs I’ve published have been serious. So “Mediterranean Babe” is officially the first song I created with the ukulele, and I think the lyrics and instrumental piece go hand in hand.

I’m always amazed at how songs come together so naturally and effortlessly, and I hope you feel the tropics and pure bliss this song encompasses.


The Lyrics

“Call me baby, next to the light-toned homes

Inside the gardens of every kind

Make me remember, our feet on the beach

Wading through paradise

It’s picture perfect, risky too

To be here with you

I’m your mediterranean babe

Sun kissing me through the day

Me with those tan lines

You with those blue eyes

We’re a national crime

Call me lovely, the one thing I know is true

When I’m sitting here with you

Crystal blue waters, reflect the growing

Bougainvillea vines

It’s picture perfect, risky too

To be here with you

I’m your mediterranean babe

Sun kissing me through the day

Me with those tan lines

You with those blue eyes

We’re a national crime

You’re my one in a million guy

Having the time of our lives

Let’s never say goodbye

dance under blue skies

And live till we die

Call me baby, call me lovely

National crimes

Bougainvillea vines

Call me baby, call me lovely

National crimes

Bougainvillea vines

Am I your mediterranean babe

Sun kissing you through the day

Me with those tan lines

You with those blue eyes

We’re a national crime

You’re my one in a million guy

Having the time of our lives

Let’s never say goodbye

Dance under blue skies

And live till we die”

Share


Blissfully Happy

Not only does this song tell the story of a woman deeply and blissfully in love (whether she’s actually somewhere tropical or not), I also think it tells the story of how great being in the moment can be. How sometimes, even when you’re not somewhere with palm trees and beautiful sunsets on the beach, you can still feel like you’re in paradise.

There are times when you can be blissfully ignorant, which usually comes across as negative. But you can also be blissful in the best way: You can be happy and have peace.

When was the last time you felt blissful? When everything went great during your day, and when nothing could tear you down? Enjoy those times where you are so blissful you might be ignorant, and you might just be transported to sunsets and Piña Coladas on the beach:)

Subscribe to hear more original songs like this one.

Discussion about this podcast

Seventh Street
A Piano For Your Thoughts
An original song, accompanied by a few reflections.
Listen on
Substack App
Spotify
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Madeline Tyler